Books A Million is a scam

Tried to find a copy of The DevOps Handbook by Gene Kim in a non-kindle format since I want to read on a couple of devices that don’t have good kindle support. I found a link to booksamillion.com on the publisher’s website. BAM advertises the book’s availability in ePUB format right in the product description. Unbeknownst to be, they don’t actually have it available in ePUB format, which BAM apparently believes is just a term-of-art for any electronically readable book. The actual format is the propriety DRM’d Adobe Editions ACSM format, which you don’t get to find out until after you’ve paid and can’t get your money back. I tried the Adobe DE app just because I wanted to get started reading and not screwing around with customer service, but after logging into it with my BAM credentials, it got stuck forever at the download screen and crashed over and over again.

Next, trying to get money back since I can’t even read it in their preferred (required?) proprietary reader. Customer services has to escalate to the book vendor, “Overdrive”. WTF? Who is that? How is BAM not the vendor? Apparently I can’t get my money back…

Jesse
How do I get my money back?
The site says you sell books in epub format, but I can only download in some DRM-encumbered ACSM format
this is clearly deceptive
I tried adobe digital editions on my PC…it lets me authorize the machine, but it refuses to finish downloading or opening the book
it’s just been stuck on “fulfilling the devops handbook” forever and won’t load
Whitney joined the chat
Whitney
Hi, Jesse I will be happy to help you with that.  =)
May I have the order number please?
Jesse
<ID#>
Whitney
I do apologize, Jesse. I will have to escalate this to the vendor
Jesse
? who is the vendor?
I want the book in the advertised format, epub
Whitney
Overdrive is the vendor of this eBook
Jesse
if you don’t actually sell that, then please give me my money back
Whitney
In the meantime, please try following these instructions? To access your eBook in Windows 10, you will first need to download Adobe Digital Editions for Windows here: http://www.adobe.com/solutions/ebook/digital-editions/download.html.
Next, you will open Adobe Digital Editions and click “Help”. Select “Authorize Computer”. You will then select “Book-A-Million” from the eBook Vendor drop-down. The Vendor Login ID and Vendor password will be the same as the username and password you used to login to booksamillion.com when you made your purchase. Click “Authorize”. Click “Ok”. Note: Do not select “I want to authorize my computer without an ID.
To download your eBook, go to booksamillion.com and click “My Account” on the top right to login to your account. Go to Download Library and click “Download”. Select “Open with” and choose Adobe Digital Editions from the dropdown. Click “Ok”.
Please let us know if we can be of further assistance or you can visit our online Help Desk at http://www.booksamillion.com/help/index.html?id=<id&gt;.
Jesse
already did that
so you’re saying I can’t get my money back?
Whitney
I’m saying I will have to escalate to the eBook vendor. They will make that decision
Fuck these guys. I guess Amazon Kindle’s walled garden is the best we can hope for to read a book if nobody else can get their shit together. Ugh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

